10 Best Portable/Large/Hendheld Extruder Machines (Squeezers/Guns) for Pottery (Ceramic, Polymer Clay) AWESOME Review and Rating


Posted by
Ryan Peters
Updated by
Bill Miller
Last updated:
October 1, 2020

These Top Rated miniature hand-held and heavy-duty wall-mounted clay ceramic extruders work with all brands of polymer clay including Sculpey, Fimo, Kato, Pardo, Cernit, and more. They have safety design and can be used with all types of polymer clay and ceramic clay. Interchangeable discs for creating many different shapes are included in kits so the ceramic/polymer clay extruders has many uses. The extruders can be also disassembled into parts and easy clean with soap and water. All they are really a wonderful clay gun sets for choice. Create many different embellishments for all your craft projects!

Most Reliable Extruder Machine — Top Rated 2020

Editor's pickEditor's pick

Small Professional Aluminium Extruder with 23-mm Discs [Fimo]

Why it's better?

Excellent quality. Ergonomic triangular body for effortless writing and fatigue. Anodised aluminium with matte finish. Cap with clip that can be attached to the end of the pen.

TOP Extruders Comparison Chart

1. The Best Small Professional Aluminium Extruder with 23-mm Discs [Fimo]

❑

  • Quality
    95%
  • Features
    95%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

2. The Best Hendheld Extruder/Squeezer for Ceramic/Polymer Clay [Makins Professional]

❑

  • Quality
    90%
  • Features
    95%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

3. The Best Small Hendheld/Portable Clay Extruder with Easy Crank Handle [Walnut Hollow]

❑

  • Quality
    85%
  • Features
    90%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

4. The Best Portable Hand-held Soft Clay Mud Squeezer/Extruder [Weoto]

❑

  • Quality
    90%
  • Features
    90%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

5. The Best Large Wall-Mounted Professional Clay Extruder/Squeezer [Brent]

❑

  • Quality
    85%
  • Features
    85%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

6. The Best Miniature hand-held ceramic extruder/Gun for polimer clay [Vorcool]

❑

  • Quality
    80%
  • Features
    85%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

7. The Best 21-Piece Ultimate Extruder Set (Gun) for Ceramic/Polymer Clay [Makin's USA]

❑

  • Quality
    80%
  • Features
    80%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

8. The Best Hendheld Portable Extruder/Squeezer for Ceramic/Polymer Clay [Sculpey]

❑

  • Quality
    85%
  • Features
    80%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

9. The Best Portable/Hendheld Ceramic & Polymer Clay Squeezer/Extruder (extruder) [Haverp]

❑

  • Quality
    80%
  • Features
    80%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

10. The Best Clay Gun/Extruder with Discs for Pottery Ceramic/Polymer Modeling [Comiart]

❑

  • Quality
    80%
  • Features
    80%
Last Updated October 23, 2020

Choose a Model of Extruder Machine:

❑
❑
❑
❑
❑
❑
❑
❑
❑
❑

Best Extruders Brands and Manufacturers

The market is dominated by some manufacturers such as: Fimo, Makins Professional, Walnut Hollow, Weoto, Brent, Vorcool, Makin's USA, Sculpey, Haverp, Comiart.

Small Professional Aluminium Extruder with 23-mm Discs [Fimo]

has ergonomic triangular body for effortless writing and fatigue. Anodised aluminium with matte finish. Cap with clip that can be attached to the end of the pen.

Hendheld Extruder/Squeezer for Ceramic/Polymer Clay [Makins Professional]

is a perfect model includes washer and 20 discs. Can be used with all types of clay. Create many different embellishments for all craft projects.

Small Hendheld/Portable Clay Extruder with Easy Crank Handle [Walnut Hollow]

has smooth, easy to turn crank-type handle with unique disc designs. Makes clay extruding easy for both the young and the old. Suitable for use with most types of clays; includes a reusable storage case.

Portable Hand-held Soft Clay Mud Squeezer/Extruder [Weoto]

is a high quality, easy to use and clean model. With a sealing ring, the mud is more compact when squeezed. With different molds, you can squeeze out different shapes.

Large Wall-Mounted Professional Clay Extruder/Squeezer [Brent]

holds up to 10 lbs. Assures equal pressure with any amount of clay in the barrel. 3-piece die set, 3 mounting brackets included.

Miniature hand-held ceramic extruder/Gun for polimer clay [Vorcool]

can be used for polymer clay, ceramic clay, pastry, bread dough, sugar paste, etc. Can be disassembled into three parts for easy to clean with soap and water. Come with interchangeable discs for creating many different shapes.

21-Piece Ultimate Extruder Set (Gun) for Ceramic/Polymer Clay [Makin's USA]

incorporates an I-shaped handle with ergonomic grip that can be adjusted to optimize user's comfort. Designed discs and two O-rings included.

Hendheld Portable Extruder/Squeezer for Ceramic/Polymer Clay [Sculpey]

provides a simple way to add attractive textural details to your polymer clay projects. Contains locking nut and nineteen discs.

Portable/Hendheld Ceramic & Polymer Clay Squeezer/Extruder (extruder) [Haverp]

is made of durable material. Can be disassembled into three parts for easy clean with soap and water.

Clay Gun/Extruder with Discs for Pottery Ceramic/Polymer Modeling [Comiart]

has rotary design, very labor-saving, easy to use and clean. Can be disassembled into three parts for easy clean with soap and water. All of them offer a variety models of best pottery ceramic/polymer clay extruders/squeezers/guns.

Criteria Used for Evaluation. Extruder Machine Pros and Cons

Overall, there are the most important things to consider when purchasing best pottery ceramic/polymer clay extruders/squeezers/guns. Pay attention to the following unique features:
  • product's quality;
  • price;
  • etc.

Clay Extruders Useful Information

Makins Professional Polymer Clay Extruder VS the Walnut Hollow Clay Extruder — the Difference Between Products

Today we are talking about Polymer Clay Extruders and I’m going show you the difference between Makins Professional Polymer Clay Extruder and Walnut Hollow Clay Extruder Set. If you’ve never used a Polymer clay extruder, these are the types of things that you can use them for different techniques. Now, these extruders are extremely similar, with a couple of differences, both come in almost identical packaging, and the dies that are in the inside and a die is this little stainless steel disc that has a hole in it, and there’s a whole bunch of different sizes and shapes of holes that they have in these discs, you put them at on the end of the tool, and then you squeeze out the clay. Now the discs in both sets are identical, I matched them across from each other, and in fact, I wouldn’t be terribly surprised if they weren’t made by the exact same company. You can see they’re the same size, and they’re the same style. The barrels are a little bit different in size, the Makins one is a little bit longer and a little bit bigger so you can put more clay in it, they’re both made of aluminum from what I can tell, though I think the Makins one, the threading system is actually steel, whereas the Makins one is aluminum. And the handles are different, you can see with the Makins one, the handle kinda slides out, and with the Makins, it turns into a little crank, so in a lot of ways, this is easier, will be a lot easier, especially if you use a vise. This one kinda has a rubber coating on it which is nice for gripping on to. The end part looks a little bit more sturdy. The plunger part, it’s built quite thick, whereas from what I can see on the Makins one, I’m worried that soon after all this use, you can see there’s a little divot happening here, I think what’s happening is the rod is ending, is gonna end up pushing through there. And I have seen online where some people have broken this part, so this disc at the end doesn’t seem as strong as the Walnut Hollow one is. So that’s one downside, but I have used it for years, and it hasn’t broken through yet, but I’m quite gentle, I don’t force a lot of, I don’t force machinery. I’ve seen people just, you know, crank things through and bust stuff, so I don’t treat my tools like that, but some people do. Okay, so let me quickly show you how they work, I’ve got some soft clay, soft clay works best, and you just crank them back. The amount of thread that’s showing is how much room is in the barrel, basically, so if you’ve got a log of clay going in, you’re gonna want it to be turned back at least as long as the clay that you’ve got to put in there, otherwise it’s not gonna fit. Then you just pop your clay into the end, you take this screw-on part, put a disc on, doesn’t matter which one, we’ll just pop one on, screw on the end, and right then what you do is you just start twisting out the handle, and you start squeezing out the clay. Now the softer the clay is, the smoother it’ll come out, if you have really dry crackly clay, then it will crack on the way out. So, you know, you can use this type of thing for all kinds of cool, cool projects. Now, the Walnut Hollow one works exactly the same way, only you crank it back, and we’ll pop in a different disc, I’ll just use the same clay, it’s nice and warm. And I’ll show you what’s really nice about these discs is that you can squeeze out things like really skinny little strands. So I’m gonna pop the disc into the Makins one, you can see they’re identical sizes, so if you’ve got dies that fit in one machine, they’ll also fit in the other. Though in this case, they’re identical so it really doesn’t matter, but there are some aftermarket dies out there so that’s good to know. And see this coming out, all these little tiny hairs, now if you want to make hair for a little doll, or do fine little filigree strips or all kinds of stuff, you could never roll these out by hand as quickly and easily as that, so that’s what’s really cool about an extruder. So you can use these little hairs for all kinds of cool things. Now, Makins also makes a clay adapter, so it has these really super-giant dies like this, so you can buy this knowing that it will fit on either the Makins machine or the Walnut Hollow one, so if you’ve already got a Makins and you wanna buy that, you can. So, that’s just a quick review showing you kind of the mechanics of it all, and how they work, and the dies and everything.

How to Use Clay Extruders

Consider working with an extruders on the example of Fimo Extruder.

Clay Extruder's O-rings

First of all, I will just show you where those O-rings go. As you will see here, you obviously have the end, which you will extrude out of, and this end, which I call the maintenance end. It’s very easy. You just unscrew, and you’ll get to a point where you can feel there’s a little bit of pressure. Then just gently pull, and the whole part comes out in middle. There you can see you’ve got a little rubber O-ring. All I would suggest is is that every now and again, because you will get a bit of a build up of clay, just give it a good clean. Pop the O-ring off and just clean underneath. Put the O-ring back on, and you can carry on playing with your ceramic extruder. You will find after a while that obviously this area will probably need to be changed. It may get a bit slack or it may even have a bit of crack in it or whatever. So it would pay to replace it. But you don’t need to do that for quite a while. So you’ve got three of them spare, so that’s really handy.

Preparing Clay for Pottery Extruder and Work With It

Then all you do is quite literally just push it back in, screw the top back down, and away you go, basically. Then this end, you unscrew this end. That’s your part you put the clay in. Handle ever so, ever such an easy action. It’s incredibly kind to your hands. This will obviously unscrew it. We’ll now screw in this bit. This will unscrew and you will fit a piece of clay into the tube and then screw the other way to slowly get that clay to come out. You can put as little or obviously you can fill the complete tube up with a piece of clay if you wish. Just obviously need to make sure it’s actually going to fit into there. All you do is just pop that in, and then pick which one you would like to use. I’ll go for something a little bit fun. So there we go, and that just goes into the end of that cap. You screw it all back together and then just start extruding. It is such an easy action. It really, really is. It’s very kind to your hands. You’ll start to feel a bit of pressure. You’ll notice it. That’s where the clay will start to come out. You can see that it’s coming out with the pattern or the shape that’s it’s been the disc it’s been extruded through. It really is great. If anyone is into making canes, polymer clay canes, it’s a really handy tool if you want to build up some elements that way. Then you just take that and what I would suggest is you just take the very tip of it off. You’ll be able to see that you’ve got the lovely little shape which has come out of the end there. Then it’s very simple to work with this clay extruder machine. You just want to unscrew your end, literally take out the little disc. You’ll have a little bit of excess clay on it. You can wipe that off. Pop it back into your case, and then use a different disc if you want. But it is as simple as that, and it really doesn’t take a lot of maintenance. You can give it a quick wipe round at the top. Sometimes you get a bit of excess clay, but it’s so quick.

How to Install Wall-Mounted Extruder (Instruction)

Today, I'm going to demonstrate how to properly install and assemble a wall mounted extruder in your home, studio or classroom. There are also a few new features and maintenance topics that will be important to go over as well.
To get started, you're going to need a stud finder. The extruder must be anchored to a wooden stud for stability. Moving the stud finder across the wall, detect the width of the stud and mark the center with a pencil. Next, along the stud you selected, measure up to where you wish the bottom of the extruder to be on the wall. I put a market at 44 inches, so my barrel is somewhere around 42 inches off of the ground. After you've measured, you're going to want to find where you're going to pre-drill your first screw and make a mark. To make this process a little simpler, you may need a friend or a magnetic level like I do here. Being sure to hold the drill very straight, pre-drill where you made your mark. Be careful and remember that you're drilling right into a stud, so it's going to be a little bit rough. You're now ready to drill the first screw into place. Leave the mounting frame a little bit loose to make leveling easier when you add the rest of the screws. Now you can mark and pre-drill the locations for the last three screws. Once the frame is fully mounted, use the peg's provided to install the extruder barrel. As you attach the barrel, you'll notice that it's now able to be tilted up and down, and it's fully removable. Both features are designed for ease and comfort during cleanup. Following the barrel, the clutch bar will need to be installed. The bar itself is a simple piece of black pipe from a hardware store. As the clutch is used, the bar will see wear over time, so be sure to regularly maintain the surface by sanding out scratches or replacing the pipe entirely. The pipe simply feeds up into a hole at the top of the frame and then comes down and can be threaded tightly into a hole behind the barrel. The clutch system is simple and easy to use. Click the yellow part of the clutch plate to an upward position to slide the clutch up the pipe and downward to slide the clutch down the pipe. This system should prove more efficient during use, and while cleaning up. Using the hitch pin and clip included, install the handle onto the clutch. This helps slide the clutch up and down, and it's where the piston is attached. The same method will be used to mount the piston onto the handle. When not in use, adjust the height using your clutch and rest the piston on the bar provided off to either side behind the barrel. Once your extruder is installed completely, you'll be ready to load your dye into the end cap. Place the dye in first, followed by the rubber ring included, and then twist the cap onto the bottom of the barrel carefully. When the end cap is not in use, it can now be hung off the bar that is behind the barrel. At this point, your extruder is fully functional and ready for clay. Be sure to maintenance your extruder regularly, tightening the clutch, cleaning the barrel, cleaning the clutch bar, and so on. This will keep your extruder running smoothly for years to come.
We are going to do a review of the Lucy Clay Extruder XXL HD — Extra, Extra Long and the Heavy Duty. Its other name is Czextruder — means extruder made in Czechoslovakia (Czech Republic). It's 20 centimeters in length which is much, much bigger than the other extruders, the Makin's which is the Green one, or the Walnut Hollow one, and it is also heavy-duty, the whole thing is made of steel and it's super, super strong. It's made of steel, and then the inside is steel, and this thing will not strip even if you put super-stiff clay through it. I mean one of the reasons why they did that was because of the problems that happen with some of the other extruders. With the Makin's Extruder, the threads are aluminum, so if you're not careful, the aluminum tends to be a little soft and they can strip. I never did strip mine, I was quite careful with it, so mine has always been fine, the Makin's one, but recently when I was working on my the Christmas sweater cane, it involved tons and tons of extrusions, and I was using the Walnut Hollow one, and what happened was, is when I was cranking through it, the threads completely stripped. I mean they did use steel here which is better than the other one, but the inside is a soft brass or something like that and it just stripped really easily with all of the cranking and the angles and everything. That is not going to be an issue with this extruder, it's set up a little bit differently. What's all included in the All in One Box if you go beyond just the extruder. In the All in Box there is the extruder, of course, the plunger, and it's done a little differently, it's not attached. They have an extra plunger and some extra O-rings, they have a little tool for the end part here, they have some lubricant which you can put onto the O-rings if you like or onto the threads. They also have a cleaning brush which is really great ‘cause it's the perfect size for cleaning it out, also you can use it to pop a little piece out the end if it's still in there when you're finished extruding. And then also, with the All in One Box, you get the vise system, so this is the extra-large vise, the piece slides into here and then you crank it on like that with the cranker or whatever, you have a board that you can work on, it's actually kinda similar to the glass one, only a little smaller and you can use that. And then also in the kit is all of their extruder dies. Their extruder dies are not only pretty, but they're really, really clever, they put a lot of thought into these designs. They've got the typical ones, you know the squares, the holes, the circles and triangles and all that kind of stuff, but they also have designed them so that a lot of them will have the center part and then the background, so this is the center and then on the other disk is the background. it's just really clever thinking and she's really thought it through, and there's lots of those, there are a lot of them are interchangeable and they can be used that way. And the other thing about this that makes it great, is not only it does it have the handle, that makes it really easy to crank, but you can also remove the handle and add an adapter, this adapter goes on the end, and then you can hook it up to your power drill, and that's how I'm gonna show you how this is used, so that we can go through it really quickly, but you can either crank it by hand or hook it up to a power drill. Now, the way you use this is you choose your disks, on these little disks, what you gonna have to do is you open it up obviously, you take your disks out. But you twist these, you pop them out, you keep twisting them until they break out, you use a file and you file off those little nubs on there and then you place the disk into the extruder. But you just take the end off, you put on a disk, so I'm gonna put on a heart disk, and you screw it onto the end, so this is the same as any other extruder, and then you take your clay. I’ve got a rainbow cane so that the rainbow is going down the full length and I'm just gonna pop the one end into the extruder down to that end first, and then I'm gonna slide the little plunger thing in, and then we're gonna push in the end until it matches up, there's not a ton of clay. Actually, this extruder could take a ton of clay. So I'm gonna just screw down to the end, and then, if you had your handle on it, you just start cranking, but I wanna show you what makes this thing really great is. You don't have to buy an adapter or anything, it's already in the kit. And I can add it to the power drill and just have to tight it down. Now if you have it in a vise, like this one, you would have it there or you can just hold on to it, and then you just start drilling, be slow about it, you don't wanna put too much pressure on that disk. The clay is just gonna start extruding out, it's so easy and fast. Okay, so I'm right down to the end and that's it, if I wanna reverse it, I can do that, and just use the reverse on here. So I've got extruded heart. This was fairly dry clay, so it's cracking a little along the sides. You get this heart with all these different colors, it's a rainbow heart. I can extrude the same kind of thing with the background and wrap it right around. I think you get the idea. I love this extruder, it is more expensive than the other ones, but it is so tough and strong, I am not worried about stripping it at all, I'm really impressed with all of the creative dies that you can get for it, and I'm excited about using it, it's a good one.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What are good pottery ceramic/polymer clay extruders/squeezers/guns?

A: Check please our best pottery ceramic/polymer clay extruders/squeezers/guns comparison table.

Q: Where to buy cheap Extruders for sale?

A: Take a look at this TOP best pottery ceramic/polymer clay extruders/squeezers/guns kits reviewed of 2020 and then press the «Check Price» button to check their price and availability.

Q: What is the best Extruder Machine for money?

A: The Small Professional Aluminium Extruder with 23-mm Discs [Fimo] is our Editor's Choice as the best model of Extruder Machine with its combination of performance, features, quality and price.

We Recommend


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



PotteryLabPro


Copyright © 2020     youtube pinterest twitter